Centennial Junior High Language Arts teacher Sandi Stille has been selected as the Natrona County School District's 'Teacher of the Year.'

AM 1400 The Cowboy logo
Get our free mobile app

That's according to a news release from the Natrona County School District.

"Sandi plays an active role in school leadership, leading the language arts department, serving on building leadership teams, designing and implementing professional learning opportunities, and mentoring a new generation of teachers," the release stated. "Throughout her career, Stille has been driven by a commitment to continuous improvement and growth not only for her students but also for herself, embracing new technologies and constantly reflecting on her practice."

The release noted that Stille has been recognized by NCSD graduating seniors as an 'Influential Educator."

The release stated that Stille approaches every day with a positive attitude, a strong work ethic, and a sense of humor.

The person who nominated Stille said that she did so because Stille is so invested in the lives, academically and personally, of NCSD students.

"Sandi is also dedicated to building relationships with students," her nominator stated. "This is apparent from the climate in her classroom. She cares about each student and devotes much of her time outside school hours helping them understand the content. She is readily available for her students and willing to do whatever it takes to help them be successful in class. She is an inspirational educator and deserving of this honor."

Though Stille was the educator that won 'Teacher of the Year,' she was in good company with the rest of the NCSD teachers that were nominated, including:

  • Eberle Buhler - Casper Classical Academy
  • Elizabeth Becher - Cottonwood Elementary
  • Lindsay Casey - CY Middle School
  • Ciera Christopherson - Verda James Elementary
  • Brianna Farrell - Dean Morgan Middle School
  • Kerri Flammang - Sagewood Elementary
  • Steve Grussendorf - Natrona County High School
  • Michele Haass -  Casper Classical Academy
  • Amy Harmsen - Summit Elementary
  • Nicole Johnson - Student Support Services
  • Becky Junge - Journey Elementary
  • Sarah Larsen - Woods Learning Center
  • Sandi Stille - Centennial Junior High
  • Christine Usry - Casper Classical Academy
  • Nathan Vondra - Manor Heights Elementary
  • Jessica Weiss - Midwest
  • Lisa Whitaker - Cottonwood Elementary

The release stated that these nominees had to meet certain criteria in order to be nominated. They had to teach pre-kindergarten through grade twelve and have plans to continue teaching for the foreseeable future. In addition, educators must also have "the respect and admiration of their colleagues," and:

  • Is an expert in their field who guides students of all backgrounds and abilities to achieve excellence,
  • Collaborates with colleagues, students, and families to create a school culture of respect and success,
  • Deliberately connects the classroom and key stakeholders to foster a strong community at large,
  • Demonstrates leadership and innovation in and outside of the classroom walls that embodies lifelong learning, and
  • Expresses themselves in an engaging and articulate way.

Stille certainly demonstrates all of those characteristics and more, which is why she was named the Natrona County School District 'Teacher of the Year.'

LIFT Wyoming Educates, Inspires, and Empowers Wyoming Teenagers

LIFT Wyoming was designed to "promote leadership in our young people for Wyoming's future," and it aims to to create a new generation of Wyomingites that can lead the state in new and exciting ways. 

More From AM 1400 The Cowboy