Six counties in southeastern Wyoming have been placed under a severe thunderstorm watch.

The watch, in effect until 8 p.m. Sunday, includes Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Niobrara and Platte counties. The watch also applies to 26 counties in Colorado.

The National Weather Service in Cheyenne has warned of lime-size hail, winds gusting up to 70 mph and frequent lighting as possible hazards as the storm moves through the watch area.

Between Colorado and Wyoming, the watch area includes over 5 million people, 1,524 schools and 79 hospitals, according to the NWS.

Casper and Natrona County are not included in the severe thunderstorm watch area, but the National Weather Service in Riverton says Casper could see isolated strong to severe thunderstorms though 8 p.m. Sunday.

Small hail, wind gusts over 40 mph, brief heavy rain and lightning are possible. Casper and much of central Wyoming are under a marginal risk for such weather.