Wyoming Highway Patrol Puts Extra Emphasis On ‘Move Over Law’
The Wyoming Move Over Law has been updated to protect more Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) employees, as well as our first responders.
To remind motorists, the Wyoming Highway Patrol posted the following on their Facebook page:
We cannot emphasize enough how important this law is in keeping our first responders safe! #MoveOverLaw #LaramieCountyFireDistrict2
The new Move Over Law took effect on July 1st, 2018 and states that when a construction, maintenance or utility vehicle is stopped on a road with two or more lanes in the same direction, motorists must move to the farthest lane away from the stopped vehicle. The law now includes those workers in addition to emergency responders such as the Wyoming Highway Patrol and Fire & Rescue.
On a two-lane road where speeds are 45 mph or greater, motorists must slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. Motorists can be fined $235.00 for failure to move over.
WYDOT is currently making signs about the new requirements as a way to help educate the public.